What is Casein?

casein

by | Sep 10, 2015 | Helpful Tips, Tip of the Day

Casein is the main protein in milk (solid form) and in cheese. It is used in processed foods and in adhesives, paints, and other industrial products. Peptides from gluten [gliadorphin] and casein [casomorphin] are believed to cause a reaction with opiate receptors in the brain. On a smaller level, this reaction is believed to mirror the effects of opiate drugs like heroin and morphine.

When eliminating dairy from your diet, it is important that you add adequate calcium and vitamin D back into your diet in the form of fortified milk substitutes or acceptable vitamin and mineral supplements.

Here are foods that contain casein and their casein free substitutes:

Foods with Casein

  • Butter
  • Cheese
  • Cream
  • Cream Soups and Vegetables
  • Custard
  • Half and Half
  • Ice Cream
  • Ice Milk
  • Milk
  • Puddings
  • Sherbet
  • Soup Bases
  • Sour Cream
  • Whey
  • White or Milk Chocolate
  • Yogurt

 

Foods that might contain Casein

  • Artificial Flavorings
  • Cosmetics
  • Dairy-Free Cheese (most brands)
  • Dairy-Free that contains caseinate
  • Ghee
  • Lactic Acid
  • Lunch Meats