Unfamiliar Ingredients to Avoid

by | Jun 21, 2015 | Diet, Resource Center

This is a list of ingredients that are unsafe to eat when on a gluten free diet.  Use this list to refer to when preparing your meals, eating out, or checking food labels at the grocery store.  Some items on this list to have gluten free versions.  Make sure any ingredients you use/eat off this list say “Gluten Free”.

 

Abyssinian Hard (Wheat triticum durum)

Alcohol (Whiskey, Spirits with additives)

Amp-Isostearoyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein

Atta Flour

Baked beans (check the sauce)

Barley Grass (can contain seeds)

Barley Hordeum vulgare

Barley Malt

Beer (unless gluten free)

Bleached Flour

Blue Cheese (It should declare wheat on the label)

Bran

Bread Flour

Brewer’s Yeast

Brown Flour

Bulgur (Bulgar Wheat/Nuts)

Bulgur Wheat

Cereal Binding

Chilton

Club Wheat (Triticum aestivum subspecies compactum)

Coco Mix (Some contain gluten)

Common Wheat (Triticum aestivum)

Cookie Crumbs

Cookie Dough

Cookie Dough Pieces

Corn Bread (Unless GF, most contain a mix of wheat flour)

Couscous

Criped Rice

Dinkle (Spelt)

Disodium Wheatgermamido Peg-2 Sulfosuccinate

Durum wheat (Triticum durum)

Edible Coatings

Edible Films

Edible Starch

Eggroll Wrappers

Einkorn (Triticum monococcum)

Emmer (Triticum dicoccon)

Energy Bars (most brands, check labels)

Enriched Bleached Flour

Enriched Bleached Wheat Flour

Enriched Flour

Farina

Farina Graham

Farro

Filler

Flour (normally this is wheat, unless specified otherwise)

Fu (dried wheat gluten)

Germ
Graham Flour

Granary Flour

Groats (barley, wheat)

Hard Wheat

Heeng

Hing

Hordeum Vulgare Extract

Hydrolyzed Wheat Gluten

Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein

Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein Pg-Propyl Silanetriol

Hydrolyzed Wheat Starch

Hydroxypropyltrimonium Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein

Ice Cream (depending on the flavors)

Imitation Seafood (like crab, usually contains wheat)

Kamut (Pasta wheat)

Kecap Manis (Soy Sauce)

Ketjap Manis (Soy Sauce)

Kluski Pasta

Licorice (Usually contains wheat)

Maida (Indian wheat flour)

Malt
Malted Barley Flour

Malted Milk
Malt Extract

Malt Syrup

Malt Flavoring

Malt Vinegar

Macha Wheat (Triticum aestivum)

Matza

Matzah

Matzo

Matzo Semolina

Meringue

Meripro 711

Mir

Nishasta

Oriental Wheat (Triticum turanicum)

Orzo Pasta

Pasta

Pearl Barley

Persian Wheat (Triticum carthlicum)

Perungayam

Poulard Wheat (Triticum turgidum)

Polish Wheat (Triticum polonicum)

Rice Malt (if barley or Koji are used)

Roux

Rusk

Rye

Salad Dressings (Specific Flavors)

Seasoning Mixes (Check packet ingredients)

Seitan

Semolina

Semolina Triticum

Shot Wheat (Triticum aestivum)

Small Spelt

Spirits (Specific Types)

Spelt (Triticum spelta)

Sprouted Wheat or Barley

Stearyldimoniumhydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein

Strong Flour

Suet in Packets

Tabbouleh

Tabouli

Teriyaki Sauce

Timopheevi Wheat (Triticum timopheevii)

Triticale X triticosecale

Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Flour Lipids

Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Extract

Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil

Udon (wheat noodles)

Unbleached Flour

Vavilovi Wheat (Triticum aestivum)

Vital Wheat Gluten

Wheat, Abyssinian Hard triticum durum

Wheat amino acids

Wheat Bran Extract

Wheat, Bulgur

Wheat Durum Triticum

Wheat Germ Extract

Wheat Germ Glycerides

Wheat Germ Oil

Wheat Germamidopropyldimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein

Wheat Grass (can contain seeds)

Wheat Nuts

Wheat Protein

Wheat Triticum aestivum

Wheat Triticum Monococcum

Wheat (Triticum Vulgare) Bran Extract

Whole-Meal Flour

Wild Einkorn (Triticum boeotictim)

Wild Emmer (Triticum dicoccoides)

 

The following items may or may not contain gluten depending on where and how they are made, and it is sometimes necessary to check with the manufacturer to find out:

 

Artificial Color

Baking Powder

Caramel Color

Caramel Flavoring

Clarifying Agents

Coloring

Dextrins

Dextrimaltose

Diglycerides

Dry Roasted Nuts

Emulsifiers

Fat Replacer

Flavoring

Food Starch

Food Starch Modified

Glucose Syrup

Glycerides

Gravy Cubes

Ground Spices

HPP

HVP

Hydrolyzed Plant Protein

Hydrolyzed Protein

Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein

Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysate

Hydroxypropylated Starch

Maltose

Miso

Mixed Tocopherols

Modified Food Starch

Modified Starch

Mono and Diglycerides

Monoglycerides

Natural Flavoring

Natural Flavors

Natural Juices

Non-dairy Creamer

Oat Bran (often cross-contaminated)

Oat Fiber (often cross-contaminated)

Oatmeal (often cross-contaminated)

Pregelatinized Starch
Protein Hydrolysates
Seafood Analogs
Seasonings
Sirimi
Smoke Flavoring
Soba Noodles
Soy Sauce
Soy Sauce Solids
Sphingolipids
Stabilizers
Starch
Stock Cubes
Suet
Tocopherols
Vegetable Broth
Vegetable Gum
Vegetable Protein
Vegetable Starch

Veggie Bacon (Most, but not all)

Veggie Burgers (Most, but not all)

Veggie Hotdogs (Most, but not all)

Veggie Sausages (Most, but not all

Vitamins
Wheat Starch